Myriam Cadotte

Program : M. Sc. in Biology

Affiliation : Department of Biology, Université Laval

Director : Steeve Côté

Co-director : Jean Bérubé

E-Mail : myriam.cadotte.1@ulaval.ca

 

Research project

The topic of my project is mycophagy (mushroom consumption) by white-tailed deer (Odocoileus virginianus) on Anticosti Island. The main objective is to determine what species of mushrooms are consumed and their abundance in deer's diet. We will also study more specifically the effects of sex, habitat, physical condition, the date during the fall and deer's age on the diversity and abundance of species of mushrooms consumed. There will also be a part of the project that will focus specifically on hypogean mushrooms (truffles) to determine their importance in deer's diet on Anticosti Island. These mushrooms interest us more because of their higher socio-economic importance. The results of this study will increase our knowledge about mushroom species consumed and possibly important in deer's diet, a subject little studied until now.

Academic training and work experience

Myriam Cadotte holds a B. Sc. in biology with a specialization in ecology from Sherbrooke University (2011-2014). She began her professional training by working during the summer of 2012 as a research assistant in the bioclimatology and modelling department of the Horticulture Research and Development Centre in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Subsequently, she worked on several projects for the Ministry responsible for the management of the province's wildlife in Jonquière and Longueuil during winter 2013 and summer 2014. She also worked as a research assistant in the laboratory of evolutionary demography and conservation of the biology department at Sherbrooke University in autumn 2013.

Research interests

Management and conservation of wildlife, impacts of human disturbance on wildlife, plant-herbivore relationships, predator-prey relationships, habitat use, population dynamics, animal and behavioral ecology.

Chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG en aménagement intégré des ressources de l'île d'Anticosti - Université Laval
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon, Local 3076, 1045, av. de la Médecine, Québec (Québec) G1V 0A6 Canada
Téléphone : 418-656-7769, Fax: 418-656-2043 Courriel : chaireanticosti@bio.ulaval.ca
Ce site utilise TYPO3 Réalisation: Équipe Tactic

Myriam Cadotte

Programme d'étude : Maîtrise en biologie

Affiliation : Département de biologie, Université Laval

Directeur : Steeve Côté

Codirecteur : Jean Bérubé

Courriel : myriam.cadotte.1@ulaval.ca

Sujet de recherche

Le sujet de mon projet est la mycophagie (consommation de champignons) du cerf de Virginie (Odocoileus virginianus) à l'île d'Anticosti. L'objectif principal est de déterminer quelles espèces de champignons sont consommées et leur abondance dans l'alimentation des cerfs. Nous allons également étudier de manière plus spécifique les effets du sexe, de l'habitat, de la condition physique, de la date durant l'automne et de l'âge des cerfs de Virginie sur la diversité et l'abondance des espèces de champignons consommées. Il y aura aussi une partie du projet qui s'attardera plus spécifiquement aux champignons hypogés (truffes) afin de déterminer leur importance dans l'alimentation des cerfs de l'île d'Anticosti. Ces champignons nous intéressent davantage en raison de leur plus grande importance socio-économique. Les résultats de cette étude permettront d'avoir plus de connaissances sur les espèces de champignons consommées et possiblement importantes dans l'alimentation du cerf de Virginie, un sujet peu étudié jusqu'à maintenant.

Formation et expériences de travail

Myriam Cadotte détient un baccalauréat en biologie avec un profil en écologie de l'Université de Sherbrooke (2011-2014). Elle a débuté sa formation professionnelle en travaillant, durant l'été 2012, comme assistante de recherche dans le département de bioclimatologie et modélisation au Centre de Recherche et de Développement en Horticulture de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. Par la suite, elle a travaillé sur plusieurs projets pour le ministère provincial responsable de la Faune à Jonquière et à Longueuil, durant l'hiver 2013 et l'été 2014. Elle a aussi travaillé comme assistante de recherche au laboratoire de démographie évolutive et conservation du département de biologie à l'université de Sherbrooke durant l'automne 2013.

Intérêts en recherche

Gestion et conservation de la faune, impacts des perturbations anthropiques sur la faune, relations plantes-herbivores, relations prédateurs-proies, utilisation de l'habitat, dynamique des populations, écologie animale et comportementale.

Chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG en aménagement intégré des ressources de l'île d'Anticosti - Université Laval
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon, Local 3076, 1045, av. de la Médecine, Québec (Québec) G1V 0A6 Canada
Téléphone : 418-656-7769, Fax: 418-656-2043 Courriel : chaireanticosti@bio.ulaval.ca
Ce site utilise TYPO3 Réalisation: Équipe Tactic